Thankful

I’m done living in a perpetual future-casting mindset.

About a year ago, I chose to begin to be thankful for the ‘whos’, ‘wheres’ and ‘whats’ I had in my world right now in this moment: the people, places and things who were around me.

This shift began one day after I recognised that I had at some point prayed for all of the moments I was currently experiencing and that I hadn’t taken the time to acknowledge that I was thankful. Truly grateful. And I realised I didn’t want to just flippantly pass them by or cast them aside in order to move onto newer or grander ‘what’s nexts’ in my life…

No.

I made a choice to begin to be thankful for my ‘nows’. For the breath inhabiting my lungs; the roof over my head; the friends I engage with; and the way that lil’ Willie Wagtail sings his “I’m so pretty” song every morning to let me know the sun is up.

I am thankful for my quirky friend moments; the rain dancing on my tin roof; the workplace I have; my writing adventures; and the way I get to nourish my health.

I am thankful for Kingdom adventures, for being able to rest in a place of peace without fight or flight going off in my gut; and for that the warm cup of coffee in my hands every morning.

I am so very thankful for all of the moments in my ‘now’.